Jordan

Sunnis (92%), Christians (6%, mostly Greek Orthodox), others (Shiites and Druze).

The constitution, government policy and practice strongly supports Islam and punishes criticism of Islam as well as criticism of the ruling family and the rule system.

The Jordanian Penal Code prohibits anyone from blaspheming (on religion – delete ’on religion’? – blaspheming is always against religion), humiliating religious sentiments, or insulting prophets. The violation of the prohibitions makes the infringer liable for imprisonment for up to three years. An amendment to the Jordanian Criminal Procedure Act of 2006 allows Jordan to prosecute a crime from Jordan if the offense affects the Jordanian people “electronically”.

It is illegal to register an explicitly humanistic, atheist, secular or other non-religious NGO or other human rights organization. Such groups are being prosecuted by the authorities. The terminology of the humanist principles of democracy, freedom and human rights is suppressed, as well as the advocacy of secularism or the separation of church and state. It is illegal to identify oneself as an atheist or non-religious. (IHEU)

Each Jordanian is allowed to accuse another of apostasy before his Islamic courts. If an Islamic court convicts a person of apostasy, it is authorised to imprison, to suspend the marriage, confiscate property and disqualify the convicted person from inheritance.

The Jordanian poet Islam Samhan was charged in 2008 for apostasy from his poetry and sentenced to prison in 2009.

German Federal Foreign Office: “On September 25, 2016, journalist Nahed Attar was shot dead in Amman. He was charged with blasphemy for sharing a cartoon depicting God as a servant of a supporter of the ‘Islamic State’. The Jordanian government and state-affiliated media condemned the assassination.”

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Jordanien

Sunniten (92 %), Christen (6 %, mehrheitlich griechisch-orthodoxe), Andere (Schiiten und Drusen).

Die Verfassung, die Regierungspolitik und -praxis befürwortet stark den Islam und bestraft Kritik am Islam sowie Kritik an der herrschenden Familie und dem Herrschaftssystem.

Das jordanische Strafgesetzbuch verbietet es jedem, über Religion zu lästern, religiöse Gefühle zu erniedrigen oder Propheten zu beleidigen. Die Verletzung der Verbote macht den Verletzer für Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren haftbar. Durch eine Änderung des jordanischen Strafverfahrensgesetzes aus dem Jahr 2006 kann Jordanien eine Straftat aus Jordanien verfolgen, wenn die Straftat das jordanische Volk „auf elektronischem Wege“ betrifft.

Es ist illegal, eine explizit humanistische, atheistische, säkulare oder andere nichtreligiöse NGO oder andere Menschenrechtsorganisation registrieren zu lassen. Solche Gruppen werden von den Behörden verfolgt. Die Ausdrucksweise der humanistischen Prinzipien zu Demokratie, Freiheit und Menschenrechten wird unterdrückt, ebenso wie das Befürworten von Säkularismus oder die Trennung von Kirche und Staat. Es ist illegal, sich als Atheist oder als nicht-religiös zu erkennen zu geben. (IHEU)

Jedem Jordanier ist es erlaubt, einen anderen wegen Apostasie vor seinen islamischen Gerichten zu beschuldigen. Wenn ein islamisches Gericht eine Person der Abtrünnigkeit überführt, ist es befugt, eine Haftstrafe zu verhängen, die Ehe dieser Person aufzuheben, das Eigentum zu beschlagnahmen und vom Erbrecht zu disqualifizieren.

Der jordanische Dichter Islam Samhan wurde 2008 für seine Abtrünnigkeit für Gedichte angeklagt und im Jahr 2009 zu einer Haftstrafe verurteilt.

Auswärtiges Amt: „Am 25. September 2016 wurde der Journalist Nahed Attar in Amman erschossen. Er war wegen Blasphemie angeklagt, weil er eine Karikatur geteilt hatte, in der Gott abgebildet war als Diener eines Anhängers des ‚Islamischen Staates‘. Die jordanische Regierung und staatsnahe Medien verurteilten das Attentat.“

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail