Malaysia

Muslims 61%, Buddhists 20%, Christians 9%, Hindus 6%, Confucians, Taoists and other Chinese religions 1%, Other 1%, No religion 1%. (2010)

(Sunni) Islam enjoys special protection as the so-called “official religion of the state” (article 3.1 of the Malaysian constitution). It is based on a dogmatically clean, conservative version of Sunni Islam as defined by the religious authorities and actively against so-called “deviant” interpretations of Islam. Moreover, according to the Constitution, there is extensive religious freedom. However, for more than 30 years, government-sponsored emphasis has been placed on Islamic traditions, commandments and prohibitions, leading to the progressive Islamization of society, the state and the judiciary. For the Muslim population, Sharia judgments based on Islamic civil law, the imposition of punishments under Islamic criminal law have narrow limits on the area of punitive repression, even though an expansion of powers is currently being vigorously debated on the basis of an opposition bill. (German Federal Foreign Office, February 2018)

Punishments for apostasy are not constitutional, but authority over religious affiliation rests with state-sanctioned Sharia courts, which de facto make apostasy impossible. Penalties up to the death penalty are demanded repeatedly.

In August 2017, the photo of an atheist gathering in the Muslim community caused a stir after being highlighted by pro-Islamist blogs, which led to violence and death threats on social media. The photo that became viral was just a large group of people who smiled and made peace signs in the camera.

The problem is bigger than it seems, because these threats come not only from fundamentalist Islamists, but also from senior members of the Malaysian government. A minister of government in the increasingly fundamentalist Muslim majority nation has said that atheists in Malaysia should be “hunted down” for violating the constitution, and he called on Islamic scholars to re-educate non-believers. He called for an investigation into the circumstances of this meeting, in particular regarding the involvement of Muslims (or ex-Muslims). The Malaysian government has so far been considered a more moderate Islamic society, but this moderation could disappear. It seems that the Malaysian government no longer believes that no one has the right to target the life or freedom of another person because that person has conflicting views. (Atheist Republic)

Growing attention among the small number (~ 1%) who are prepared to identify themselves as non-religious has, however, led government officials and police to threaten atheists and deny that there is a right to atheism under the Malay Constitution express. Ethnic Malays are subject to strict state controls of enforced, homogeneous religious identity, including mandatory Sharia law, and in two states that are Hudud decrees demanding death for “apostasy.”

There is a significant social marginalization of the non-religious or stigma associated with the expression of atheism, humanism or secularism. (IHEU, 2016)

Recently, Deputy Minister Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki, who helped guide the actions of ex-Muslims, said in parliament that atheism was unconstitutional and contrary to both the federal constitution and the Rukunegara. “We need to understand that in the Malaysian context, our federal constitution states that religious freedom is not freedom from religion,” he said. (Atheist Republic, 2017)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Malaysia

Muslime 61 %, Buddhisten 20 %, Christen 9 %, Hindus 6 %, Konfuzianer, Taoisten und andere chinesische Religionen 1 %, Andere 1 %, Keine Religionszugehörigkeit 1 %. (2010)

Der (sunnitische) Islam genießt als so genannte „offizielle Religion des Staatswesens“ (Art. 3.1 der malaysischen Verfassung) besonderen Schutz. Dabei wird von einer dogmatisch reinen, von den Religionsbehörden definierten konservativen Version des sunnitischen Islams ausgegangen und gegen sogenannte „abweichende“ („deviant“) Auslegungen des Islams aktiv vorgegangen. Im Übrigen herrscht laut Verfassung weitgehende Religionsfreiheit. Allerdings ist seit 30 Jahren eine von der Regierung geförderte stärkere Betonung islamischer Traditionen, Gebote und Verbote zu beobachten, die zu einer fortschreitenden Islamisierung von Gesellschaft, Staat und Justiz führt. Für die muslimische Bevölkerungsgruppe urteilen Scharia-Gerichte auf der Basis islamischen Zivilrechts, der Verhängung von Strafen nach dem islamischen Strafrecht sind enge Grenzen bei der Strafbewehrung gezogen, auch wenn eine Ausweitung der Befugnisse derzeit auf der Grundlage eines oppositionellen Gesetzentwurfs lebhaft diskutiert wird. (Auswärtiges Amt, Februar 2018)

Strafen für Apostasie sind nicht verfassungskonform, allerdings obliegt die Autorität über Religionszugehörigkeit staatlich legitimierten Schariagerichten, die Apostasie de facto unmöglich machen. Strafen bis hin zu Todesstrafe werden zudem wiederholt gefordert.

Im August 2017 verursachte das Foto einer Atheisten-Versammlung in der muslimischen Gemeinschaft Aufruhr, nachdem es von pro-islamistischen Blogs hervorgehoben wurde, was zu Gewalt- und Todesdrohungen in sozialen Medien führte. Das Foto, das viral wurde, war einfach eine große Gruppe von Menschen, die lächelten und Friedenszeichen in der Kamera machten.

Das Problem ist größer als es scheint, weil diese Drohungen nicht nur von fundamentalistischen Islamisten kommen, sondern auch von hochrangigen Mitgliedern der malaysischen Regierung. Ein Regierungsminister in der zunehmend fundamentalistischen muslimischen Mehrheitsnation hat gesagt, dass Atheisten in Malaysia „gejagt“ werden sollten, weil sie gegen die Verfassung verstoßen, und er forderte islamische Gelehrte auf, Nichtgläubige umzuerziehen. Er forderte eine Untersuchung der Umstände dieses Treffens, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Beteiligung von Muslimen (oder Ex-Muslimen). Die malaysische Regierung wurde bisher als gemäßigtere islamische Gesellschaft betrachtet, aber diese Mäßigung könnte verschwinden. Es scheint, dass die malaysische Regierung nicht länger daran glaubt, dass niemand das Recht hat, das Leben oder die Freiheit einer anderen Person ins Visier zu nehmen, weil diese Person gegensätzliche Standpunkte vertritt. (Atheist Republic)

Die wachsende Aufmerksamkeit bei der kleinen Zahl (~ 1%), die bereit sind, sich als nicht religiös zu identifizieren, hat jedoch Regierungsbeamte und Polizei dazu gebracht, Atheisten zu bedrohen und zu leugnen, dass es ein Recht gibt, Atheismus unter der malaiischen Verfassung auszudrücken. Ethnische Malayen unterliegen strengen staatlichen Kontrollen einer erzwungenen, homogenen religiösen Identität, einschließlich zwingender Scharia-Gesetze, und in zwei Staaten, die Hudud-Erlässe sind, die den Tod wegen „Apostasie“ fordern.

Es gibt eine signifikante soziale Marginalisierung des Nicht-Religiösen oder Stigmas, die mit dem Ausdruck von Atheismus, Humanismus oder Säkularismus verbunden ist. (IHEU, 2016)

Kürzlich sagte der Stellvertretende Minister Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki, der dazu beitrug, das Vorgehen der Ex-Muslime zu leiten, im Parlament, dass der Atheismus verfassungswidrig sei und sowohl der Bundesverfassung als auch dem Rukunegara widerspreche. „Wir müssen verstehen, dass im malaysischen Kontext unsere Bundesverfassung besagt, dass die Religionsfreiheit keine Freiheit von Religion ist“, sagte er. (Atheist Republic, 2017))

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail