Morocco

Muslims 98.7% (Sunnis), Christians 1.1%, Jews 0.2%.

Morocco is a constitutional monarchy. The king is both a secular and spiritual leader. According to Article 6 of the Moroccan Constitution, Sunni Islam is the state religion.

On the part of the state, there are no criminal sanctions against converts. However, the apostasy from Islam is strongly disapproved of in traditional Moroccan society in accordance with the Islamic tradition and usually leads to social exclusion when it is known. While Sharia (law) is not law in Morocco, discrimination can not be ruled out. Since Moroccans are far more involved in family and kinship than is customary in the West, this can have immediate consequences for livelihoods. (BAMF)

However, the Penal Code prohibits early attempts by non-Muslims to “shake the faith of the citizens of Sunni Islam” and punishes anyone who “uses enticements” to undermine the faith of a Muslim with six months to three years imprisonment.

The constitution and the law on the media prohibit any citizen, including parliamentarians who are usually immune from arrest, from criticizing Islam in public platforms such as print or online media or public speaking. Such statements are punishable by imprisonment of two years and a fine of 200,000 dirhams (19,700 US dollars).

The government continues to restrict the distribution of non-Islamic religious material and some Islamic materials that were incompatible with the Maliki Ashari school of Sunni Islam. Its policy continues to be to control the sale of all books, videotapes and DVDs which it considers extremist.

Relatives of unrecognized religious minorities say that the fear of social harassment, including proscription by convert families, social ridicule, discrimination in the workplace, and potential violence against them by “extremists” is the main reason for discreetly practising their faith. Members of the Baha’i Faith said they were open to their beliefs with family, friends, and neighbors, but dreaded that extremist elements in society would try to harm them, causing them to ask the local police for protection at their gatherings. Shiite Muslims said that in some areas, especially in large northern cities, they did not hide their faith from family, friends or neighbors, but many continued to avoid exposing their religious affiliation in areas where their numbers were smaller. (U.S.St.Dept.)

This situation should be even more pronounced for atheists.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Marokko

Muslime 98,7 % (Sunniten), Christen 1,1, %, Juden 0,2 %.

Marokko ist eine konstitutionelle Monarchie. Der König ist sowohl weltlicher als auch geistlicher Führer. Laut Artikel 6 der marokkanischen Verfassung ist der sunnitische Islam Staatsreligion.

Seitens des Staates gibt es keine strafrechtlichen Sanktionen gegenüber Konvertiten. Der Glaubensabfall vom Islam wird aber in der traditionellen Gesellschaft Marokkos in Übereinstimmung mit der islamischen Tradition stark missbilligt und führt bei Bekanntwerden in der Regel zu sozialer Ausgrenzung. Zwar ist die Scharia nicht Gesetz in Marokko; Diskriminierung kann jedoch nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Da die Marokkaner weitaus stärker in Familie und Verwandtschaft eingebunden sind als dies im Westen üblich ist, kann das unmittelbare Folgen für die Existenzsicherung haben. (BAMF)

Das Strafgesetzbuch verbietet jedoch Versuche von Nicht-Muslimen, „den Glauben der Bürger vom sunnitischen Islam zu erschüttern“ und bestraft jeden, der „Verlockungen anwendet“, den Glauben eines Muslims zu untergraben mit sechs Monaten bis drei Jahren Haft.

Die Verfassung und das Gesetz über den Mediensektor verbieten es jedem Bürger, einschließlich Parlamentarier, die normalerweise vor einer Festnahme gefeit sind, den Islam in öffentlichen Plattformen wie Print- oder Online-Medien oder öffentliche Reden zu kritisieren. Solche Äußerungen werden mit Freiheitsstrafe von zwei Jahren und einer Geldstrafe von 200.000 Dirham (19.700 US-Dollar) bestraft.

Die Regierung beschränkt weiterhin die Verbreitung nicht-islamischen religiösen Materials sowie einiger islamischer Materialien, die mit der Maliki-Ashari-Schule des sunnitischen Islam nicht vereinbar waren. Ihre Politik besteht weiterhin darin, den Verkauf aller Bücher, Videobänder und DVDs, die sie für extremistisch hielt, zu kontrollieren.

Angehörige nicht anerkannter religiöser Minderheiten sagen, dass die Angst vor gesellschaftlicher Belästigung, einschließlich Ächtung durch Familien von Konvertiten, sozialer Spott, Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz und potentieller Gewalt gegen sie durch „Extremisten“ der Hauptgrund für die diskrete Ausübung ihres Glaubens sei. Mitglieder des Bahai-Glaubens sagten, sie seien offen gegenüber ihrem Glauben mit Familie, Freunden und Nachbarn, aber gefürchtete extremistische Elemente in der Gesellschaft würden versuchen, ihnen Schaden zuzufügen, was sie dazu veranlasste, die lokale Polizei um Schutz bei ihren Versammlungen zu bitten. Schiitische Muslime sagten, dass sie in einigen Gegenden, besonders in großen Städten im Norden, ihren Glauben nicht vor der Familie, Freunden oder Nachbarn verbargen, aber viele vermieden es weiterhin, ihre Religionszugehörigkeit in Gebieten zu offenbaren, in denen ihre Zahl kleiner war. (U.S.St.Dept.)

Das dürfte noch ausgeprägter für Atheisten gelten.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail