Saudi Arabia

Muslims: “100 percent” is the laconic statement in international directories.

Saudi Arabia is considered to be the “cradle of Islam” (Kaaba in Mecca and Prophet’s Mosque in Medina) and the official state religion of the absolutist-ruled kingdom is Islam in its form of Wahhabism – a fundamentalist, religious-conservative and “medieval” variant of Islam which assumes a literal interpretation of the Koran.

The constitution is based solely on the Koran and the Sunnah (“prophetic tradition”, that is, traditions and practices based on the life of the Prophet Muhammad). The legal system is based on Sharia as interpreted in the Hanbali school of Sunni jurisprudence.

Freedom of religion is not provided for by law and no religion other than Islam may be publicly practiced. Victims of discrimination include Shiite Muslims, including the execution of the well-known Shiite cleric Sheikh Nimr Baqir al-Nimr in January 2016.

The government censors content in the media, including social media and the Internet. Although arrests were banned from the CPPPV (Religious Police) from April 2016, the social behavior of all citizens continues to be controlled to enforce laws and regulations protecting “public morality”.

Already in the spring of 2014, Saudi Arabia had stated that from a criminal point of view, atheism is as bad as religiously motivated terrorism. By law, “the promotion of atheistic ideologies in any form”, “any attempt to challenge the foundations of Islam” and publications that “contradict Islamic law” are criminalized. The government arrested individuals for apostasy, blasphemy, violation of Islamic values ​​and moral standards, insulting Islam, black magic, and sorcery.

To name just one example: Since 2012, the Saudi blogger Raif Badawi has been imprisoned. He founded in 2008 the online forum “The Saudi Liberal”. 1,000 lashes, ten years imprisonment and a fine of 1,000,000 Saudi Rials (the equivalent of around 194,000 euros) was the punishment he received on 8 May 2014 for “insulting Islam”. Badawi had stated on the internet that “Muslims, Christians, Jews and atheists are equal”. The prosecution initially demanded his execution for “apostasy”. If he can not pay the fine, the detention is expected to be extended.

Although the first marginal reforms were ordered in 2017 (among others, women are now allowed to drive a car), the moral authority of the Saudi royal family is based on the support of conservative Sunni clerics, who are essentially not ready for reform.

Two books were published in January 2018 about the conditions in Saudi Arabia.

Rana Ahmad: “Women are not allowed to dream here” as well as Kholoud Bariedah: “No tears for Allah,” who was imprisoned and received fifty lashes every two weeks.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Saudi-Arabien

Muslime: „100 Prozent“ ist die lakonische Angabe in internationalen Verzeichnissen.

Saudi-Arabien gilt als „Die Wiege des Islams“ (Kaaba in Mekka und Prophetenmoschee in Medina) und die offizielle Staatsreligion des absolutistisch regierten Königreichs ist der Islam in seiner Ausformung des Wahhabismus – eine fundamentalistisch, religiös-konservative und „mittelalterliche“ Variante des Islam, die von einer wörtlichen Interpretation des Korans ausgeht.

Die Verfassung beruht ausschließlich auf dem Koran und der Sunna („Prophetentradition“, d. h. Traditionen und Praktiken, die auf dem Leben des Propheten Muhammad basieren). Das Rechtssystem basiert auf der Scharia, wie sie in der Hanbali-Schule der sunnitischen Rechtswissenschaft interpretiert wird.

Religionsfreiheit ist gesetzlich nicht vorgesehen und es darf keine andere Religion als der Islam öffentlich praktiziert werden. Zu den Opfern der Diskriminierung gehören auch die schiitischen Muslime, einschließlich der Hinrichtung des bekannten schiitischen Geistlichen Scheich Nimr Baqir al-Nimr im Januar 2016.

Die Regierung zensiert Inhalte in den Medien, einschließlich der sozialen Medien und des Internets. Auch wenn der „Kommission zur Förderung von Tugend und Vorbeugung von Lastern“ (CPVPV, Religionspolizei) ab April 2016 die Verhaftungen untersagt wurden, wird das soziale Verhalten aller Bürger weiterhin kontrolliert, um Gesetze und Vorschriften zum Schutz der „öffentlichen Moral“ durchzusetzen.

Bereits im Frühjahr 2014 hatte Saudi-Arabien erklärt, dass Atheismus aus strafrechtlicher Sicht genauso schlimm wie religiös begründeter Terrorismus sei. Per Gesetz werden „die Förderung atheistischer Ideologien in jeder Form“, „jeder Versuch, die Grundlagen des Islam in Frage zu stellen“, und Veröffentlichungen, die „den Bestimmungen des islamischen Rechts widersprechen“ kriminalisiert. Die Regierung verhaftete Personen wegen Apostasie, Blasphemie, Verletzung islamischer Werte und moralischer Standards, Beleidigung des Islam, schwarzer Magie und Zauberei.

Um nur ein Beispiel zu benennen: Seit 2012 ist der saudische Blogger Raif Badawi in Haft. Er gründete 2008 das Online-Forum „Die Saudischen Liberalen“. 1.000 Peitschenhiebe, zehn Jahre Gefängnis und eine Geldstrafe von 1.000.000 Saudischen Rial (umgerechnet rund 194.000 Euro) war die Strafe, die er am 8. Mai 2014 wegen „Beleidigung des Islam“ erhielt. Badawi hatte im Internet erklärt, dass „Muslime, Christen, Juden und Atheisten gleichwertig“ seien. Die Anklage forderte daraufhin zunächst seine Hinrichtung wegen „Abfall vom Islam“. Sollte er die Geldstrafe nicht zahlen können, wird sich voraussichtlich die Haft verlängern.

Auch wenn 2017 erste marginale Reformen angeordnet wurden (u. a. dürfen Frauen Auto fahren) beruht die moralische Autorität des saudischen Königshauses auf der Unterstützung durch die konservativen sunnitischen Kleriker, die im Kern nicht reformbereit sind.

Über die Zustände in Saudi-Arabien sind im Januar 2018 zwei Bücher erschienen.

Rana Ahmad: „Frauen dürfen hier nicht träumen“ sowie Kholoud Bariedah :„Keine Tränen für Allah“, die inhaftiert war und alle zwei Wochen fünfzig Peitschenhiebe erhielt.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail