Somalia

Muslims (Sunnis) 99.8%, Christians and others 0.2%

Somalia has lacked an effective central government for decades. The ensuing anarchy enabled extremist Islamist groups to impose harsh Sharia forms of death, including death for apostasy, blasphemy, and other expressions of belief and expression.

Articles 3 (1) and 4 (1) of the Somali Constitution state that the religious law of Sharia is the highest law of the nation. The prescribed punishment for apostasy is the death penalty.

There have been numerous reports of executions of people for apostasy, especially Muslims who have converted to Christianity. However, the reported executions were carried out by extra-state Islamist groups and local mobs, rather than after the defendant was tried in a Somali court.

Especially in areas controlled by the Al-Shabaab militia, apostasy is forbidden and punishable by death.

“The terror group al-Shabaab killed, mutilated or harassed individuals suspected of converting to Islam or those who did not follow the group’s religious edicts. During the year, al-Shabaab was responsible for killing civilians, government officials, members of parliament, Somali forces and police, as well as troops from the contributing countries of the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM). On 26 October 2016, Pro-ISIS fighters occupied a small coastal town in Puntland and proclaimed Sharia until the Puntland security forces drove them out in early December 2016.

There was strong social pressure to abide by Sunni Islamic traditions. The conversion from Islam to another religion remained socially unacceptable in all areas. Conversion suspects were harassed by members of their community. “(U.S.St.Dep.)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Somalia

Muslime (Sunniten) 99,8 %, Christen und andere 0,2 %

Somalia fehlt seit Jahrzehnten eine effektive Zentralregierung. Die daraus resultierende Anarchie ermöglichte es extremistischen islamistischen Gruppen, harte Formen der Scharia durchzusetzen, die Tod für Apostasie, Blasphemie und andere Ausdrucksformen der Glaubens- und Meinungsfreiheit beinhalten.

Artikel 3 (1) und 4 (1) der somalischen Verfassung erklären, dass das religiöse Gesetz der Scharia das höchste Gesetz der Nation ist. Die vorgeschriebene Strafe für Apostasie ist die Todesstrafe.

Es gab zahlreiche Berichte über Hinrichtungen von Menschen wegen Apostasie, insbesondere Muslime, die zum Christentum konvertiert sind. Die berichteten Hinrichtungen wurden jedoch von außerstaatlichen islamistischen Gruppen und lokalen Mobs durchgeführt, anstatt nachdem der Angeklagte vor einem somalischen Gericht verhandelt wurde.

Vor allem in Gebieten, die von der Al-Shabaab-Miliz kontrolliert werden, ist Apostasie verboten und wird mit dem Tod bestraft.

„Die Terrorgruppe al-Shabaab tötete, verstümmelte oder belästigte Personen, die verdächtigt wurden, sich vom Islam bekehrt zu haben oder diejenigen, die sich nicht an die religiösen Edikte der Gruppe hielten. Während des Jahres war al-Shabaab für die Tötung von Zivilisten, Regierungsbeamten, Parlamentsmitgliedern, somalischen Streitkräften und Polizisten sowie von Truppen aus den beitragenden Ländern der Mission der Afrikanischen Union in Somalia (AMISOM) verantwortlich. Am 26. Oktober 2016 besetzten Pro-ISIS-Kämpfer eine kleine Küstenstadt in Puntland und proklamierten die Scharia, bis die Sicherheitskräfte von Puntland sie Anfang Dezember 2016 vertrieben.

Es gab einen starken gesellschaftlichen Druck, sich an sunnitische islamische Traditionen zu halten. Die Bekehrung vom Islam zu einer anderen Religion blieb in allen Bereichen sozial inakzeptabel. Konversionsverdächtige wurden von Mitgliedern ihrer Gemeinschaft belästigt.“ (U.S.St.Dept.)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail