Sudan

Sunnis (70%) in the north, Indigenous religions 25%, Christians 5%.

With regard to conversion from Islam, suspects are subject to close scrutiny, intimidation, and sometimes torture by members of the security forces who remain unpunished. However, according to the findings of the German Foreign Office, cases of prosecution for apostasy, which is punishable by the death penalty, were not known.

According to United States Commission on International Religious Freedom, blasphemy was used to intimidate those who express disapproving views. In recent years, such allegations have been made against individuals, including the former presidential candidate Yassir Aman, who were in favor of exempting non-Muslims from the use of Sharia or advocating a secular state. The Communist Party is regularly accused of blasphemy.

Another aspect of Sharia, which has entered into state law, is the possibility of imposing the death penalty on apostasy. However, the convicted person can avert the execution of the sentence by speaking the Islamic creed.

Under the 1992 Prison Act, the Minister of Justice, with a recommendation for parole by the Director-General of Prisons and a committee in consultation with the Ministry of Religious Orientation and Foundations, may release any prisoner who has memorized the Koran in detention. (BAMF)

Section 125 of the Sudanese Penal Code prohibits “insulting religion, incitement to hatred, and contempt for religious beliefs.” The section includes as punishments: imprisonment, fine and a maximum of 40 strokes. In December 2007, the section was used against two Egyptian booksellers. They were sentenced to six months in prison for selling a book that the court considered an insult to Aisha, a wife of the Prophet Muhammad.

In May 2005, the authorities arrested Mohammed Taha Mohammed Ahmed and accused him of violating section 125. Ahmed was the editor-in-chief of a daily newspaper Al-Wifaq. The newspaper had published an article on a 500-year-old Islamic manuscript stating that the true name of Muhammad’s father was not Abdallah, but Abdel Lat or Slave of Lat, an idol of the pre-Islamic era. A court sentenced Al-Wifaq to eight million Sudanese pounds – the newspaper closed for three months – but acquitted Ahmed. Ahmed was found beheaded in September 2006. (Wikipedia)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Sudan

Sunniten (70 %) im Norden, Indigene Religionen 25 %, Christen 5 %.

Im Hinblick auf Konversion vom Islam unterliegen Verdächtige einer genauen Überprüfung, werden eingeschüchtert und manchmal von Angehörigen der Sicherheitskräfte, die hierfür straflos bleiben, gefoltert. Allerdings wurden nach Erkenntnissen des Auswärtigen Amtes Fälle von Strafverfolgung wegen Apostasie, die nach dem Gesetz mit der Todesstrafe zu ahnden ist, nicht bekannt.

USCIRF (United States Commission on International Religious Freedom) zufolge wurde die Strafbarkeit von Blasphemie benutzt, um diejenigen einzuschüchtern, die missliebigen Ansichten Ausdruck verliehen. In den letzten Jahren seien solche Beschuldigungen gegen Personen -darunter den früheren Präsidentschaftskandidaten der SPLM Yassir Aman – erhoben worden, die sich dafür einsetzten, Nicht-Muslime von der Anwendung der Scharia auszunehmen oder für einen säkularen Staat eintraten. Die Kommunistische Partei werde regelmäßig der Gotteslästerung beschuldigt.

Ein weiterer Aspekt der Scharia, der ins staatliche Recht Eingang gefunden hat, ist die Möglichkeit der Verhängung der Todesstrafe bei Apostasie. Allerdings kann der Verurteilte die Vollstreckung des Urteils durch Sprechen des islamischen Glaubensbekenntnisses abwenden.

Nach dem Strafvollzugsgesetz von 1992 kann der Justizminister mit einer Empfehlung zur Strafaussetzung durch den Generaldirektor der Gefängnisse und ein Komitee, das sich mit dem Ministerium für Religiöse Orientierung und Stiftungen berät, jeden Strafgefangenen entlassen, der in der Haft den Koran auswendig gelernt hat. (BAMF)

Abschnitt 125 des sudanesischen Strafgesetzes verbietet „Beleidigung der Religion, Anstiftung zum Hass und Verachtung für religiöse Überzeugungen“. Der Abschnitt umfasst als Strafen: Freiheitsstrafe, Geldstrafe und maximal 40 Schläge. Im Dezember 2007 wurde die Sektion gegen zwei ägyptische Buchhändler eingesetzt. Sie wurden zu sechs Monaten Gefängnis verurteilt, weil sie ein Buch verkauften, das das Gericht als Beleidigung für Aisha, eine Frau des Propheten Mohammed, ansah.

Im Mai 2005 verhafteten die Behörden Mohammed Taha Mohammed Ahmed und beschuldigten ihn, gegen Abschnitt 125 verstoßen zu haben. Ahmed war der Chefredakteur einer Tageszeitung Al-Wifaq. Die Zeitung hatte einen Artikel über ein 500 Jahre altes islamisches Manuskript veröffentlicht, in dem es heißt, der wahre Name von Mohammeds Vater sei nicht Abdallah, sondern Abdel Lat oder Slave of Lat, ein Idol der vorislamischen Ära. Ein Gericht verurteilte Al-Wifaq mit acht Millionen sudanesischen Pfund – die Zeitung wurde drei Monate lang geschlossen -, sprach aber Ahmed frei. Ahmed wurde im September 2006 enthauptet gefunden. (Wikipedia)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail