The right to self-determination in religious societies

Open apostasy is only the tip of the iceberg. In strictly religious societies, self-determination rights are curtailed in many ways. Thus, religious-critical expressions can lead to social ostracism, even if they do not contain any commitment to atheism.

Drastic invasions of privacy are commonplace in many Islamic countries. Although Western criticism of archaic practices such as forced marriage and forced circumcision is often fought off in a culturally relativistic manner with reference to the supposed “equivalence of all cultures”, it is regularly overlooked that there is massive resistance within the various societies to religious virtue terrorism.
Unfortunately, these critical voices can hardly be articulated due to the lack of freedom of expression and social pressure – but we should support those freedom-loving people who, under extremely difficult social conditions, are courageous enough to stand up for themselves.

The situation is particularly critical for women with a liberal mind in many countries. In Saudi Arabia, for example, they have to submit to a male guardian all their lives. Women must hide themselves in public, may not drive a car, may not travel without the guardian’s consent, may not choose their spouse, may not work without the guardian’s consent, and are severely restricted in their choice of profession.

In Iran, things are not looking much better: here too, women are not allowed to practise all professions, travel alone, etc. They are severely disadvantaged by the law on witnesses, marriage, divorce, custody and inheritance. In court, a woman’s life and health are only half the value of a man’s life and health. Those who rebel against it will be punished.

The situation of homosexuals is also catastrophic. Shortly after the Isla Mischen Revolution, Khomeini introduced the death penalty for sexual intercourse between men. Since then, about 4000 gays have been executed in Iran. Meanwhile, other Islamic countries have followed the Iranian example. Homosexual men are now threatened with death in Yemen, Brunei, Mauritania, Northern Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Northern Sudan and the United Arab Emirates, while in other Islamic states they are subject to long-term prison sentences, often including imprisonment.
I can count on whipping. In addition to the open apostasy, there are also other good reasons why refugees cannot return to Islamic states and should be recognized in Germany as “politically or religiously persecuted“. It is time to support these people in a special way and give them the opportunity to make their
to raise a voice against the injustices in their home countries! Through their courage, they could also be a role model for German politicians who should give up their “spineless appeasement policy against ruthless despots”. Only in this way will the world’s despots understand that humanistic values are not negotiable and Universal Human Rights apply to all people – not just Europeans!

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Selbstbestimmungsrechte in religiösen Gesellschaften

Offene Apostasie bildet nur die Spitze des Eisbergs. In streng religiösen Gesellschaften werden Selbstbestimmungsrechte auf vielfältige Weise beschnitten. So können religionskritische Äußerungen auch dann zu sozialer Ächtung führen, wenn sie gar kein Bekenntnis zum Atheismus beinhalten.

Drastische Eingriffe in die Privatsphäre sind in vielen islamischen Ländern an der Tagesordnung. Zwar wird westliche Kritik an archaischen Praktiken wie Zwangsheirat und Zwangsbeschneidung oft kulturrelativistisch mit dem Verweis auf die vermeintliche „Gleichwertigkeit aller Kulturen“ abgewehrt, doch dabei wird regelmäßig übersehen, dass es auch innerhalb der jeweiligen Gesellschaften massive Widerstände gegen religiösen Tugendterror gibt.
Bedauerlicherweise können sich diese kritischen Stimmen wegen der fehlenden Meinungsfreiheit und des sozialen Drucks kaum artikulieren – umso stärker jedoch sollten wir jene freiheitsliebenden Menschen unterstützen, die unter denkbar schwierigen sozialen Bedingungen Mut zum aufrechten Gang zeigen.

Für freigeistige Frauen ist die Situation in vielen Ländern besonders kritisch. In Saudi-Arabien beispielsweise müssen sie sich ihr ganzes Leben lang einem männlichen Vormund unterordnen. Es herrscht strikte Geschlechtertrennung im öffentlichen Raum: Frauen müssen sich in der Öffentlichkeit verschleiern, dürfen nicht Auto fahren, nicht ohne Zustimmung des Vormunds reisen, den Ehepartner nicht selbst wählen, nicht ohne Zustimmung des Vormunds arbeiten und sind in ihrer Berufswahl stark eingeschränkt.

Im Iran sieht es nicht viel besser aus: Auch hier dürfen Frauen nicht alle Berufe ausüben, nicht allein verreisen etc. Sie werden beim Zeugenrecht, beim Ehe-, Scheidungs-, Sorge- und Erbrecht stark benachteiligt. Vor Gericht haben das Leben und die Gesundheit einer Frau nur den halben Wert des Lebens und der Gesundheit eines Mannes. Wer dagegen aufbegehrt, wird abgestraft.

Katastrophal ist auch die Lage der Homosexuellen. Schon kurz nach der Isla mischen Revolution führte Khomeini die Todesstrafe für Geschlechtsverkehr unter Männern ein. Seither wurden im Iran etwa 4000 Schwule hingerichtet. Inzwischen sind andere islamische Länder dem iranischen Beispiel gefolgt. So werden homosexuelle Männer mittlerweile auch im Jemen, in Brunei, Mauretanien, Nord-Nigeria, Saudi-Arabien, Nord-Sudan und in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten mit dem Tod bedroht, in anderen islamischen Staaten müssen sie mit langjährigen Gefängnisstrafen, oft auch mit
Auspeitschungen rechnen. Neben der offenen Apostasie gibt es also noch weitere gute Gründe, warum Flüchtlinge nicht in islamische Staaten zurückkehren können und in Deutschland als „politisch bzw. religiös Verfolgte“ anerkannt werden sollten. Es ist an der Zeit, diese Menschen in besonderer Weise zu unterstützen und ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre
Stimme gegen die Unrechtszustände in ihren Heimatländern zu erheben! Durch ihren Mut könnten sie auch ein Vorbild für deutsche Politiker sein, die ihre „rückgratlose Appeasementpolitik gegen über rücksichtslosen Despoten“ aufgeben sollten. Denn nur so werden die Despoten der Welt begreifen, dass humanistische Werte nicht verhandelbar sind und die Allgemeinen Menschenrechte für alle Menschen gelten – nicht bloß für Europäer!

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail