The story of our foundation: Rana’s escape

Rana Ahmed
Rana Ahmed

Rana did not believe in Allah. And she was convinced that also women deserve a life of freedom and equality. She knew that it was only a matter of time before she would be threatened, persecuted or murdered in her homeland because of her nonconform views on religion, people and the universe, possibly even by her own family. Life in Saudi Arabia became unbearable for her, so she was eventually faced with a choice:
Suicide or escape?

Rana decided to flee. She thought that she would only have to survive the long and for her as a single woman extremely dangerous Balkan route  in order to live in peace, to be safe and free. After all, Germany, where she made it to with much luck, was a peaceful and safe country with a liberal constitution: no one could be convicted here for a “thought crime” – her fall from faith in the eyes of the Islamists was nothing else.

But when Rana found herself in a refugee shelter in Cologne, she realized that her dream had not come true. For the danger from which she had fled – it had traveled with her: in the form of other refugees. They too had good reasons for leaving their countries, but apostasy, falling from faith, was not one of them. Many of the refugees Rana met in Cologne were religious Muslims. And some of them thought that apostasy was a terrible, even a deadly crime.

Rana was in shock: she was threatened in Germany – like in Saudi Arabia before. She had to fear for her life – like in Saudi Arabia. “I had the feeling that I had never left Saudi Arabia”, she summed up her experiences later. For a long time she didn’t know what to do. Then she found out by chance that the chairperson of the Central Council of Ex-Muslims (ZdE), Mina Ahadi, also lived in Cologne. Rana contacted her and through Mina she met some members of the Giordano-Bruno-Stiftung (gbs). A short time later they were able to find an apartment for her in Cologne, where she moved in gladly.

Only now she was free. She could have settled into her new life and enjoyed her new freedoms, but she was painfully aware that her own fate was not an exceptional and isolated case.

Therefore, Rana gathered all her courage and, with the help of the Central Council of Ex-Muslims and the gbs Cologne, brought her story to the public. In June 2016, a first major article appeared in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, and in September, she was a guest on two ([1], [2]) occasions in the sternTV programme.

Rana’s commitment attracted the attention of large sections of the German population to the precarious situation of non-religious refugees in Germany. In addition, her case was the final impetus to launch a project that had long been discussed among ex-Muslims and the Giordano-Bruno-Stiftung, namely the establishment of an Atheist Refugee Relief organisation.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Die Gründungsgeschichte: Ranas Flucht

Rana Ahmad

Rana glaubte nicht an Allah. Und sie war überzeugt davon, dass auch Frauen ein Leben in Freiheit und Gleichberechtigung zusteht. Sie wusste, dass es nur eine Frage der Zeit war, bis sie in ihrer Heimat wegen ihrer unorthodoxen Ansichten über Religion, die Menschen und das Universum bedroht, verfolgt oder ermordet werden würde, möglicherweise sogar von ihrer eigenen Familie. Das Leben in Saudi-Arabien wurde für sie zunehmend zur Qual, so dass sie mehr und mehr vor die Wahl gestellt wurde:
Suizid oder Flucht?

Rana entschied sich für die Flucht. Sie dachte, dass sie nur die lange und für sie als alleinreisende Frau extrem gefährliche Balkanroute überleben müsste, um in Frieden, Sicherheit und Freiheit leben zu können. Schließlich ist Deutschland, wohin sie es mit viel Glück schaffte, ein friedliches und sicheres Land mit einer freiheitlichen Verfassung: Niemand darf hier wegen eines „Gedankenverbrechens“ – nichts anderes war ihr Abfall vom Glauben in den Augen der Islamisten – verurteilt werden.

Doch als sich Rana in einer Flüchtlingsunterkunft in Köln wiederfand, wurde ihr klar, dass sich ihr Traum nicht erfüllt hatte. Denn die Gefahr, vor der sie geflohen war, war mit ihr gereist: in Gestalt anderer Flüchtlinge. Auch sie hatten gute Gründe, ihre Heimat zu verlassen, doch Apostasie, der Abfall vom Glauben, war keiner davon. Viele Flüchtlinge, die Rana in Köln traf, waren gläubige Muslime. Und einige von ihnen hielten Apostasie für ein schlimmes, ja sogar für ein todeswürdiges Vergehen.

Rana stand unter Schock: Sie wurde in Deutschland bedroht – wie zuvor in Saudi-Arabien. Sie musste um ihr Leben fürchten – wie in Saudi-Arabien. „Ich hatte das Gefühl, Saudi-Arabien nie verlassen zu haben!“, brachte sie ihre Erfahrungen später auf den Punkt. Lange wusste sie keinen Rat. Dann erfuhr sie zufällig, dass die Vorsitzende des Zentralrats der Ex-Muslime (ZdE), Mina Ahadi, ebenfalls in Köln lebte. Rana nahm Kontakt zu ihr auf und durch Mina lernte sie einige Mitglieder der Giordano-Bruno-Stiftung (gbs) kennen. Diese konnten ihr wenig später eine Wohnung in Köln vermitteln, die Rana dankbar bezog.

Jetzt erst war sie frei. Sie hätte sich nun in ihrem neuen Leben einrichten und ihre neuen Freiheiten unbeschwert genießen können, doch ihr war schmerzlich bewusst, dass ihr eigenes Schicksal kein Einzelfall war.

Daher nahm Rana all ihren Mut zusammen und brachte mithilfe des Zentralrats der Ex-Muslime und der gbs Köln ihre Geschichte in die Öffentlichkeit. Schon im Juni 2016 erschien ein erster großer Artikel in der Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, im September war sie gleich zwei Mal ([1], [2]) in der Sendung sternTV zu Gast.

Durch Ranas Engagement wurden weite Teile der deutschen Bevölkerung erstmals darauf aufmerksam, wie prekär die Lage für religionsfreie Flüchtlinge in Deutschland ist. Zudem war ihr Fall der letzte Anstoß dafür, ein Projekt in Angriff zu nehmen, über das in Kreisen der Ex-Muslime und der Giordano-Bruno-Stiftung schon lange diskutiert wurde, nämlich die Gründung einer Säkularen Flüchtlingshilfe.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail