Egypt

90% of the population are Muslims, of whom 99% are Sunnis and 1% are Shiites.

Islam has been the state religion since 1971 (article 2 of the constitution) and according to the constitutional amendment of 1980 Sharia is the basis of the legislation. Formally, there is religious freedom, but the authorities recognize only the three “heavenly religions”: Islam, Christianity and Judaism. Mormons, Jehovah’s Witnesses and Bahai are not recognized. Atheists are not allowed at all. Although apostasy is not prohibited under Egyptian criminal law, there is a conflict of incompatibility with Article 2 of the Constitution. In January 2008, the Supreme Court ruled that the right to change religions does not apply to Muslim citizens. (BAMF, 2011)

Government agencies and state agencies openly call for marginalization, harassment or incitement to hatred or violence for non-religious people. It is illegal to explicitly register as a humanist, atheist, secularist or other non-religious NGO or other human rights organization.

The Egyptian Penal Code expressly prohibits blasphemy in Article 98. It is embedded in the prohibitions to support “extremist thoughts”, “sedition” or “national prejudices”. Anyone who violates the Abrahamic “Celestial Religions” or “National Unity” may be punished with prison terms of five to six years and / or fines of up to LE 1,000. In addition violation of religious symbols is punishable by up to five years in prison and / or fines of up to € 500 (Article 160). The spread of atheism in word, writing or other is punishable by punishments of up to five years imprisonment.

In October 2014, the sheikh of the prestigious Al-Azhar University, Ahmad al-Tayyib, warned in the state television program that atheism was no longer a marginal phenomenon.

At the beginning of 2018, there are concrete plans to “criminalize atheism” and to tighten penalties. (IHEU)

The Federal Foreign Office writes (in February 2018):
“The human rights situation is extremely worrying. Human rights organizations report torture in detention centers and on police stations as well as excess length of detention in inhumane conditions without charge. The phenomenon of enforced disappearance continues to increase.
Human rights organizations in Egypt have become targets of unprecedented repression such as account closures, travel bans and investigations.”

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Ägypten

90 % der Bevölkerung sind Muslime, davon 99% Sunniten und 1% Schiiten.

Der Islam ist seit 1971 Staatsreligion (Art. 2 der Verfassung) und die Scharia laut Verfassungszusatz von 1980 die Grundlage der Gesetzgebung. Formal besteht Religionsfreiheit, aber die Behörden erkennen nur die drei „himmlischen Religionen“ Islam, Christentum und Judentum an. Mormonen, Zeugen Jehovas und Bahai sind nicht anerkannt. Atheisten sind überhaupt nicht vorgesehen. Apostasie ist nach dem ägyptischen Strafrecht zwar nicht verboten, aber es besteht ein Unvereinbarkeitskonflikt mit Artikel 2 der Verfassung. Im Januar 2008 verfügte der Oberste Gerichtshof, dass das Recht auf Religionswechsel sich nicht auf muslimische Bürger bezieht. (BAMF, 2011)

Regierungsstellen und Staatsagenturen rufen offen dazu auf, Nicht-Religiöse zu marginalisieren, sie zu belästigen oder rufen zu Hass oder Gewalt auf. Es ist illegal, sich explizit als Humanist, Atheist, Säkularist oder andere nicht-religiöse NGO oder andere Menschenrechtsorganisation zu registrieren.

Das ägyptische Strafgesetzbuch verbietet in Artikel 98 Blasphemie ausdrücklich. Eingebettet ist es in die Verbote, sich für „extremistische Gedanken“, „Volksverhetzung“ oder „nationale Vorurteile“ einzusetzen. Jeder, der die abrahamitischen „Himmlischen Religionen“ verletzt oder die „nationaler Einheit“ kann mit Gefängnisstrafen von fünf bis sechs  Jahren und/oder Geldstrafen von bis zu 1.000 LE bestraft werden. Außerdem ist die Entweihung religiöser Symbole strafbar mit bis zu fünf Jahren Gefängnis und/oder Geldstrafen von bis zu 500 EUR (Artikel 160). Die Verbreitung des Atheismus in Wort, Schrift oder anderem wird mit Strafen von bis zu fünf Jahren Haft bestraft.

Im Oktober 2014 hat der Scheich der renommierten Al-Azhar-Universität, Ahmad al-Tayyib, im staatlichen Fernsehprogramm gewarnt, dass Atheismus nicht länger eine Randerscheinung sei.

Anfang 2018 gibt es konkrete Pläne, „Atheismus“ zu kriminalisieren“ und die Strafen zu verschärfen. (IHEU)

Das Auswärtige Amt schreibt (im Februar 2018):
„Die Lage der Menschenrechte ist äußerst besorgniserregend. Menschenrechtsorganisationen berichten von Folter in Haftanstalten und auf Polizeistationen sowie von überlangen Haftzeiten unter unmenschlichen Bedingungen ohne Anklage. Das Phänomen des erzwungenen Verschwindens nimmt in seinem Ausmaß weiter zu.Menschenrechtsorganisationen sind in Ägypten derzeit in bisher ungekanntem Ausmaß Ziel von Repressionen wie Kontosperrungen, Ausreiseverboten und Ermittlungen geworden.“

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail