Mauritania

Muslims: 100%.

The constitution defines the country as an Islamic republic and describes Islam as the only religion of the citizens and the state. Only Muslims are allowed to be citizens and converts lose citizenship.

Apostasy is a crime that can be punished by death.

Article 306 states that “every Muslim who is guilty of the crime of apostasy, whether through words or through actions of an obvious or obvious nature, is called upon to repent within three days. If the defendant does not turn back within this time, he shall be condemned to death and all his property shall be confiscated by the government.” The same article provides that if the convicted person “regrets” before execution, the Mauritanian Supreme Court may convert the death sentence into a prison sentence of between three months and two years.

On November 15, 2016, the Supreme Court heard arguments in the case of the blogger Mohamad Cheikh Ould Mohamad Ould Mkheytir, often known as MKheytir. MKheytir was found guilty of apostasy in December 2014 and sentenced to death. At the hearing in November for MKheytir’s case, hundreds of people protested outside the courthouse demanding his execution. The case was still before the Supreme Court at the end of the year. (U.S.St.Dept.)

In November 2015, the situation of human rights in Mauritania was assessed in the framework of the General Regular Review by the UN Human Rights Council. The government rejected 58 recommendations including the the abolition of the death penalty and the offense of “apostasy”.

In December 2014, a court in Nouadhibou, northwestern Mauritania, sentenced blogger Mohamed Mkhaïtir, who had been held in custody for nearly a year, to death for apostasy. He had criticized in a blog that religion is used to exclude certain social groups. During the first six months of his detention, he was locked up in a cell without a toilet or shower in solitary confinement. In November 2017, an appeals court changed the death penalty to two years in prison and was released. (AI)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail

Mauretanien

Muslime: 100 %.

Die Verfassung definiert das Land als islamische Republik und bezeichnet den Islam als die einzige Religion der Bürger und des Staates. Nur Muslime dürfen Bürger sein und Konvertiten verlieren das Bürgerrecht.

Apostasie ist ein Verbrechen, das mit dem Tod bestraft werden kann.

Artikel 306 besagt, dass „jeder Muslim, der sich des Verbrechens des Abfalls schuldig gemacht hat, sei es durch Worte oder durch Handlungen offensichtlicher oder offensichtlicher Art, aufgefordert wird, innerhalb von drei Tagen zu bereuen. Wenn der Angeklagte innerhalb dieser Zeit nicht umkehrt, soll er zum Tode verurteilt werden, und sein gesamter Besitz soll von der Regierung beschlagnahmt werden.“ Derselbe Artikel sieht vor, dass, wenn der Verurteilte vor seiner Hinrichtung „bereut“, der mauretanische Oberste Gerichtshof das Todesurteil zu einer Gefängnisstrafe zwischen drei Monaten und zwei Jahren umwandeln kann.

Am 15. November 2016 hörte der Oberste Gerichtshof Argumente im Fall des Bloggers Mohamad Cheikh Ould Mohamad Ould Mkheytir, der oft als MKheytir bekannt ist. MKheytir wurde im Dezember 2014 wegen Apostasie für schuldig befunden und zum Tode verurteilt. Bei der Anhörung im November für MKheytirs Fall protestierten Hunderte von Personen außerhalb des Gerichtsgebäudes und forderten seine Hinrichtung. Der Fall stand Ende des Jahres noch vor dem Obersten Gerichtshof. (U.S.St.Dept.)

Im November 2015 wurde die Lage der Menschenrechte in Mauretanien im Rahmen der Allgemeinen Regelmäßigen Überprüfung durch den UN-Menschenrechtsrat begutachtet. Die Regierung lehnte 58 Empfehlungen, u. a. zur Abschaffung der Todesstrafe und zum Tatbestand „Abfall vom Glauben“ jedoch ab.

Im Dezember 2014 verurteilte ein Gericht in Nouadhibou im Nordwesten Mauretaniens den Blogger Mohamed Mkhaïtir, der fast ein Jahr lang in Untersuchungshaft festgehalten worden war, wegen Abfalls vom Glauben (Apostasie) zum Tode. Er hatte in einem Blog kritisiert, dass die Religion dazu benutzt werde, bestimmte gesellschaftliche Gruppen auszugrenzen. Während der ersten sechs Monate seiner Inhaftierung wurde er in einer Zelle ohne Toilette oder Dusche in Einzelhaft gesperrt. Im November 2017 änderte ein Berufungsgericht die Todesstrafe in zwei Jahre Gefängnis um und er wurde auf freien Fuß gesetzt. (AI)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinteresttumblrmail